Home » Poetry » Tell Me A Story

Tell Me A Story

"Alas, my poor little bride that was to b...

“Alas, my poor little bride that was to be!” – Frontispiece to The Story of the Mikado, Told by W.S. Gilbert, illustrated by Alice B. Woodward, London: Daniel O’Connor, 90 Great Russell Street, 1921. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Tell me a story they said,

Well the first thing that honestly came to my head,

Was the day I learnt the meaning of ‘dead’,

‘Til this day the thought fills me with dread.

Tell me a story they cried,

I told of the day to my father I had lied,

He found out and I had cried, cried and cried,

To make it up to him- I truly had tried.

Tell me a story they joked,

They stop smiling on learning I was provoked,

So many years and from it I never woke,

A nightmare of which I never spoke.

Tell me a story they sang,

I told about how I had met this old man,

He took me aside and talked holding my hand,

Now there’s a storyteller of whom I am a big fan.

Tell me a story they quipped,

I recalled how one day my pants they were unzipped,

No one told me, everyone was so tight-lipped,

When I found out, how I had literally flipped.

Tell me a story, they were amused,

I started to and then I simply refused,

With all of the tales I was becoming confused,

Muddled memories were starting to fuse.

Tell me a story they said,

I stood there simply shaking my head,

They smiled as my mind by them had been read,

And they began to tell me a story instead.

Copyright 2013.

Leave a Reply

